Skip to main content

The Center for Peace and Security Studies (cPASS) supports and monitors funded research, graduate training, and campus outreach at UCSD in the subject of peace and international security.

Book Cover

“U.S. Military Should Not Be in My Backyard: A Case of Okinawa”

Please join The Pacific International Politics Conference (PIPC) on their ZOOM online speaker series with a presentation by Atsushi Tago (Waseda University), Yusaku Horiuchi (Dartmouth College) and Takako Hikotani (Columbia University).

Date and Time:

June 17th, 6 pm (PST)

June 17th, 8 pm (CDT) 

June 18th, 11 am (Australia, Canberra)

June 18th, 10 am (Japan)

June 18th, 9 am (Hong Kong, Singapore, and Taiwan)

Register Here

cPASS Publications

Journal of Conflict Resolution

May 4, 2021

Rex Douglass, Thomas Scherer & Erik Gartzke

Erik Gartzke

September 2020

Erik Gartzke and Patrick Hulme: The Tyranny of Distance: Assessing and Explaining the Apparent Decline in U.S. Military Performance

Sea Power on Politics

October 2020

Erik Gartzke and Jon Lindsay: "The Influence of Sea Power on Politics: Domain- and Platform-Specific Attributes of Material Capabilities"